Our Vision

uns-triangle-gray-orng

Mobility of tomorrow - intelligent planning, development and control through simulation

Why do we need new mobility? Why does mobility no longer work?

The urge for individual mobility is leading to an ever-increasing volume of traffic. The denser and more intensive the traffic, the more restricted mobility becomes. People in large cities experience this every day. Even in the "small big city" Ingolstadt participation in traffic can no longer be described as real mobility.

For intelligent solutions to this complex mobility problem, we need the following elements: modern development, planning and control tools, as well as new cooperation and participation models.

Therefore, in our research project we are developing the methodology for a holistic simulation model of a city and its traffic. The simulation should be up-to-date, real-time capable, transparent and comprehensible in order to enable the development of autonomous and networked driving functions in urban areas.

Mobility concerns us all. In a realistic computer model many people can be involved through visualization and experience the model. This creates both innovative solutions and acceptance among the population.

uns-curve-orange-left-ALT

How does the model benefit reality?

The simulation model supports the following applications in particular:

  • Optimisation of the traffic flow and demand-oriented control
  • Virtual testing of mobility offers

Optimization of the traffic flow and demand-oriented control. Wouldn't it be comfortable to know at what speed I have to travel as a cyclist to have a green wave? When should I leave work to avoid a traffic jam after work? Wouldn't it be helpful in winter to know which roads are icy at what time?

Virtual testing of mobility offers. With the city model, autonomously driving vehicles can first be tested extensively in the virtual world before they are allowed onto the road. This ensures maximum safety. The encounter with autonomous means of transport is also still unusual. The city model can be used to show and learn how a pedestrian behaves during this encounter.

We are working on the vision of a multifunctional city model that anticipates, controls and further optimizes mobility solutions. This not only provides people with safety, but also improves comfort and makes everyday life easier. Every day and every place in this city.

mehr-button

Future

2021

uns-triangle-down
uns-triangle-orange-lined

It's about the digital location Ingolstadt, it's about the future of our hometown

Dr. Christian Lösel, Lord Mayor Ingolstadt

sa-double-triangles-blu-org
en_GBEnglish (UK)
de_DE_formalDeutsch (Sie) en_GBEnglish (UK)
Scroll to Top

Unsere Vision

uns-triangle-gray-orng

Mobilität von morgen – intelligent planen, entwickeln und steuern durch Simulation

Warum brauchen wir eine neue Mobilität? Warum funktioniert Mobilität nicht mehr? Durch den Drang nach individueller Mobilität verdichtet sich der Verkehr immer weiter. Je dichter und intensiver der Verkehr ist, desto eingeschränkter wird die Mobilität. Das erleben Menschen in Großstädten täglich. Selbst in der „kleinen Großstadt“ Ingolstadt kann die Teilnahme am Verkehr längst nicht mehr als wirkliche Mobilität bezeichnet werden.

Für intelligente Lösungen dieser komplexen Mobilitätsproblematik benötigen wir folgende Elemente: moderne Entwicklungs-, Planungs- und Steuerungswerkzeuge, sowie neue Zusammenarbeits- und Beteiligungsmodelle.

Deshalb entwickeln wir in unserem Forschungsprojekt die Methodik für ein ganzheitliches Simulationsmodell einer Stadt und des Verkehrs. Die Simulation soll aktuell, echtzeitfähig sowie transparent und verständlich sein, um die Entwicklung autonomer und vernetzter Fahrfunktionen im urbanen Bereich zu ermöglichen.

Mobilität geht uns alle an. In einem realitätsnahen Computermodell können durch Visualisierung viele Menschen beteiligt werden und das Modell erleben. Das schafft sowohl innovative Lösungen als auch Akzeptanz in der Bevölkerung.

uns-curve-orange-left-ALT

Wie nützt das Modell der Realität?

Das Simulationsmodell unterstützt besonders folgende Anwendungen:

  • Optimierung des Verkehrsflusses und bedarfsgerechte Steuerung
  • Virtuelles Testen von Mobilitätsangeboten

Optimierung des Verkehrsflusses und bedarfsgerechte Steuerung. Wäre es nicht komfortabel zu wissen, mit welchem Tempo ich mich als Fahrradfahrer fortbewegen muss, um eine grüne Welle zu haben? Wann soll ich von der Arbeit aufbrechen, um den Feierabendstau zu vermeiden? Wäre es im Winter nicht hilfreich zu wissen, welche Wege um welche Uhrzeit eisglatt sind?

Virtuelles Testen von Mobilitätsangeboten. Mit dem Stadtmodell können autonom fahrende Fahrzeuge zuerst umfangreich in der virtuellen Welt getestet werden, bevor sie auf die Straße gelassen werden. Das gewährleistet ein Höchstmaß an Sicherheit. Auch die Begegnung mit autonom fahrenden Verkehrsmitteln ist noch ungewohnt. Durch das Stadtmodell kann gezeigt und gelernt werden, wie man sich als Fußgänger bei dieser Begegnung verhält.

Wir arbeiten an der Vision eines multifunktionalen Stadtmodells, das Mobilitätslösungen vorausdenkt, steuert und weiter optimiert. Das bringt den Menschen nicht nur Sicherheit, sondern auch Komfortverbesserung und Alltagserleichterung. Jeden Tag und an jedem Ort dieser Stadt.

mehr-button

Zukunft

2021

uns-triangle-down
uns-triangle-orange-lined
Es geht um den digitalen Standort Ingolstadt, es geht um die Zukunft unserer Heimatstadt

Dr. Christian Lösel, Oberbürgermeister Ingolstadt

sa-double-triangles-blu-org
Scroll to Top